How My Newly Found Developer Friend Overcame His Demons

How My Newly Found Developer Friend Overcame His Demons

I know, You probably think the title is somewhat weird. Sit tight and get to find out what this is about. I recently met Paul, a developer who uses Flutter for mobile app development, on Facebook. Somehow we connected easily being that I'm an Android developer, and we got to chat more on WhatsApp. The chats got interesting because Paul had pretty nice app ideas he shared with me. Moreover, the conversations made me want to learn flutter too. But one thing made me uncomfortable; Paul complained about 'something' a lot.

Being a developer and having to work on his PC for most hours of the day, several times when we had the usual "How are you?" conversations, he would always mention these annoying "back-aches" because of the bad chair he was using in his make-up workspace at home. I became concerned because I'd also experienced that a lot. No lie, back-aches could be hell especially when you lack the luxury of a comfortable sitting chair and you have to work for hours on your PC. Whether you are a developer or not, it applies to everyone. The worst part is when you have a sitting posture like this one...

image.png

On one of the complaints occasions, I proposed a solution for Paul, which had worked effectively in my case - using a pillow on your seat to pad your back, as a support to keep your back straight up. If you bend most times while sitting, this remedy is for you too. This helps to support and straighten the muscles at the back which would be strained due to either a bad seat or a bad sitting posture. I guess you want to know what happened with Paul after. Well, he didn't exactly use a pillow but placed something that looked like several clothes padded with one piece to look like it. It was funny to me but Goodnews is it worked for him too! And Voila!, Here is Paul's feedback...

Screenshot_20201130-185744_1607132647096.jpg

Well, he did tell me to spread the love, and here I am doing that in this article. If back-aches from sitting long hours on a bad chair is one of your demons, then don't hesitate to do what Paul did. But if you do have a comfortable chair, then make sure to adopt a good sitting posture. Also, it's beneficial to pause a few times during work and take walk breaks. Cheers to the community of stationary men, I hope this goes a long way to help, lol. Thanks for reading.